Live from Le Plessis

If you would like to become referee at Racing Metro 92, contact Jean LESPES at the following address : jeanlespes@hotmail.fr
 
 

Stade Yves Du Manoir

 

 

Whether you call it Stade Yves Du Manoir or Stade Olympique de Colombes, the stadium, which is owned by the Hauts -de-Seine Departmental Council, is where Racing Metro 92 plays its home matches. It's one of the legendary stadiums in French sport and, for all sports lovers, is a place where great feats have been achieved.

 

 


Dedicated to sport since 1883 but built in its best-known form in 1924, the Stade Yves Du Manoir site was originally used for horse racing. It was a race course owned by the Société des Courses de Colombes and bought in 1907 by the Paris daily newspaper Le Matin. The race course was then turned into a stadium that hosted athletics, rugby and football competitions from 1907 and was renamed "Stade du Matin". It could hold up to 20,000 spectators.

 

 

 

 

Racing Club de France became the tenant of the Colombes facilities in 1920.

The choice of Paris to organise the 8th Olympic Games posed the question of a large stadium in Paris. After a number of projects, the Stade De Colombes site was chosen thanks to the influence of the Ciel et Blanc club, which undoubtedly played a role in its choice for the 1924 Summer Olympics. Colombes was chosen as the main Olympic stadium and funds were released to bring its capacity up to over 40,000 seats, despite an initial project for 100,000 seats. The architect Louis Faure-Dujarric, a former Racing player, designed the project.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Following the Olympic Games, the new complex was renamed in 1928 after a Racing rugby union player and member of the national junior squad, Yves du Manoir, who had just been killed in an air accident.

The Stade de Colombes also hosted a wide range of events and reached the height of its glory in 1938 with the Football World Cup and the European Athletics Championships. It was later the venue for the famous World Boxing Championship fight between Bouttier and Monzon in 1972, in front of 40,000 spectators.

 

 

          

 

 

The stadium was renovated and enlarged for the 1938 World Cup and could now hold over 60,000 spectators. The record attendance was for a European Cup quarter-final play-off between Ajax Amsterdam and Benfica Lisbon on 5 March 1969: 63,638 paying spectators. The 60,000 places were divided between two side stands, each with 10,000 places, and end terraces for 40,000 people.

 

 

 

 

The building of the new Parc des Princes, inaugurated in 1972, was a severe blow to the Stade de Colombes, which had undergone little renovation and minimum maintenance. From 1972, international football and rugby matches and the finals of the French Cup (football) took place at the Parc Des Princes.

 

 

 

 


Colombes underwent a second renovation in 1982, but this did nothing to turn the Olympic Stadium back into a Mecca for French sport.

 

In the 80s, Colombes was only mentioned as the venue for the great annual meetings of the Jehovah's witnesses and for a few football matches. The late 80s and early 90s saw the end of Colombes. From 1988, the stadium was no longer up to standard and standing places were prohibited. In 1993, the Marathon stand and most of the Argenteuil and Colombes terraces were demolished, turning Stade Yves Du Manoir from an international stadium into a regional stadium.
 

On 20 December 2002, the departmental council became the owner of the stadium and the site facilities. New projects were launched, but without success.
 

The 2000's went by relatively quietly until Jacky Lorenzetti arrived. Under his leadership, Racing Metro 92 succeeded in bringing spectators back to Yves Du Manoir. To support Racing Metro 92's promotion to the Top 14, Mr. Lorenzetti used his own money to finance the building of a 5,000-seater side stand and a 2,000-seater enclosure built on the ashes of the former Colombes terraces. In August 2009, the new Stade Yves Du Manoir was ready, with capacity up to 14,000 seats.
 

 

 

 

This respite was short-lived, as it proved impossible to renovate the Colombes site in depth and Racing was forced to move to its future.Arena at La Défense.

 

 

Colombes and football: :
- 79 matches for France between 1924 and 1975.
- 1st match: 1st June 1924, Olympic Games quarter final, France beat Uruguay 5-1.
- Record attendance: 21 October 1956, 62,145 spectators for the France-Russia match.
- 42 French Cup finals between 1924 and 1971.

 


Colombes and rugby :
- 87 matches for France between 1924 and 1972.
- 5 Nations Tournament matches, 2 Olympic Games final phases.
- Last match on 26 February 1972, France beat England 37-12.

 


Colombes and athletics :

1924 Olympic Games, 1938 European Championship... and 17 world records between 1924 and 1980

Next match

Saturday 23th August 6:30 pm

VS
Infos Billetterie
 
 
 
Playlist du mois

Stade Yves Du Manoir

 

 

Qu’on l’appelle Stade Yves Du Manoir ou Stade Olympique de Colombes, le stade, propriété du Conseil général des Hauts -de-Seine, qui accueille les rencontres du Racing Metro 92 est un lieu mythique du sport français et synonyme pour tous les amoureux de sport de lieu aux milles exploits.

 

 


Dédié au sport, notamment aux courses hippiques,  depuis 1883 mais construit en 1924 sous sa forme la plus connue, le site du stade Yves Du Manoir fut destiné à ses débuts aux courses hippiques. C'est à l'origine un hippodrome de la Société des Courses de Colombes racheté en 1907 par le journal quotidien parisien Le Matin. L'hippodrome est ensuite transformé en stade, accueille des compétitions d'athlétisme, de rugby et de football dès 1907 et est alors rebaptisée « Stade du Matin » et peut accueillir jusqu'à 20 000 spectateurs.

 

 

 

 

Le Racing Club de France devient locataire des installations de Colombes en 1920.

La désignation de Paris pour l’organisation de les 8e Olympiades pose la question du grand stade à Paris. Après de nombreux projets, c’est le site du Stade De Colombes qui est choisi grâce notamment au poids du club Ciel et Blanc qui joue incontestablement un rôle dans son choix pour les Jeux olympiques d'été de 1924. Désigné comme stade olympique principal, Colombes profite des fonds débloqués pour porter sa capacité à plus de 40 000 places, malgré un projet initial de 100 000 places. L’architecte Louis Faure-Dujarric, ancien joueur du Racing en signe les travaux.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Suite aux Jeux Olympiques, la nouvelle enceinte est rebaptisée en 1928 au nom d'un joueur de rugby à XV du Racing et espoir de l'équipe nationale, Yves du Manoir qui vient de se tuer en avion.

Le stade de Colombes a également accueilli de nombreux évènements et atteint l’apogée de sa gloire avec l’organisation en 1938 de la Coupe du monde de football et des Championnats d’Europe d’athlétisme. Ce sera plus tard le théâtre du fameux Championnat du monde de boxe Bouttier-Monzon, en 1972, devant 40 000 spectateurs.

 

 

          

 

 

À l'occasion de la Coupe du monde 1938, le stade est rénové et agrandi. Il peut désormais accueillir plus de 60 000 spectateurs. Le record d'affluence de l'enceinte est enregistré à l'occasion d'un match d'appui de quarts de finale de Coupe des Clubs Champions Européens, entre l'Ajax Amsterdam et le Benfica Lisbonne, le 5 mars 1969 : 63 638 spectateurs payants. Les 60 000 places sont reparties en deux tribunes latérales de 10 000 places et de virages populaires de 40 000 personnes.

 

 

 

 

La construction du nouveau parc des Princes, inauguré en 1972, porte un sévère coup au stade de Colombes qui ne bénéficie alors d'aucune rénovation et d'un entretien minimaliste. Les matchs internationaux de football et rugby, ainsi que les finales de la Coupe de France se déroulant à compter de 1972 au Parc Des Princes.

 

 

 

 


Colombes connaitra une seconde rénovation en 1982 sans que cela ne refasse du Stade Olympique un haut lieu du sport Français.

 

Les années 80 ne feront parler de Colombes qu’à travers les grandes réunions annuelles des témoins de Jeovah et de quelques matchs de football. La fin des années 80 et le début des années 90 marquent la fin de Colombes. En effet, à compter de 1988, le stade n’est plus aux normes et les places debouts interdites. C’est en 1993, que la tribune Marathon ainsi qu’une grande partie des virages Argenteuil et Colombes sont détruits, faisant passer le Stade Yves Du Manoir d’un stade international à un stade régional.
A compter de cette date, divers projets de rénovation seront lancés sans qu’aucun n’aboutisse.
 

Le 20 décembre 2002, le conseil général devient propriétaire du Stade et des installations du site. De nouveaux projets seront de nouveaux lancés sans succès.
 

Les années 2000 se passent dans un relatif anonymat jusqu’à l’arrivée de Jacky Lorenzetti sous la houlette duquel le Racing Metro 92 réussit l’exploit de faire revenir les spectateurs à Yves Du Manoir. Afin d’accompagner la montée du Racing Metro 92 en Top 14, Monsieur Lorenzetti finance sur ses propres deniers la construction d’une tribune latérale de 5 000 places ainsi que d’un pesage de 2 000 places situé sur les cendres de l’ancien virage Colombes. En Août 2009, le Stade Yves Du Manoir nouveau est arrivé. Sa capacité est portée à 14 000 places.
 

 

 

 

Le répit aura été de courte durée car l’impossibilité de rénover profondément le site de Colombes pousse désormais le Racing à s'implanter à la Défense dans sa future Arena.

 

 

Colombes et le football :
- 79 matchs entre 1924 et 1975 pour l'équipe de France.
- 1er match : 1er juin 1924, quart de finale des JO, la France bat l'Uruguay 5-1.
- Record d'affluence : 21 octobre 1956, 62 145 spectateurs pour le match France-Russie.
- 42 finales de Coupe de France entre 1924 et 1971.

 


Colombes et le rugby :
- 87 matchs pour l'équipe de France entre 1924 et 1972.
- Rencontres du Tournoi des V Nations, 2 phases finales de JO.
- Dernier match le 26 février 1972, la France bat l'Angleterre 37-12.

 


Colombes et l'athlétisme :

JO 1924, Championnat d'Europe 1938... et 17 records du monde entre 1924 et 1980

Prochain match

samedi 29 novembre 18H30

VS
Infos Billetterie
 
 
+ d'infos
 
 
Playlist du mois